Just give Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson ACC COY.


One of the more under radar award races in the ACC was who was going to win the ACC COY award. It was really down three coaches Florida State’s Jimbo Fisher, Duke’s David Cutcliffe, and Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson. Well the race ended Thursday night.

When Duke went down to UNC Thursday night, David Cutcliffe was eliminated. Jimbo Fisher has managed injuries and off the distractions to keep Florida State undefeated and in the national title hunt. He definitely warrants consideration. This year though the ACC’s Coach of the year should go to Georgia Tech’s Paul Johnson. The season isn’t over, but this race is.

Georgia Tech was picked to finish 5th in the Coastal Division, and only Virginia had fewer first place ACC Coastal votes.   Heck I went to Georgia Tech and I only had them tied for 3rd. Paul Johnson had a new QB in Justin Thomas, lost his best defensive player Jeremiah Attaochu to he NFL, and his top WR DeAndre Smelter had played more baseball in college than WR.

For the fourth time in seven years Johnson has finished first or tied for first in the ACC Coastal, and this was the unlikeliest of them all. Paul Johnson may not be done either. Should he beat UGA and/or Florida State in the ACCCG a national coach of the year award may waiting.

Johnson has done a remarkable job this season. He believes in what does, and doesn’t deviate it from it. He doesn’t care where the media predicts his teams, or where Georgia Tech falls in the recruiting rankings.

As a Georgia Tech fan, I’ve always believed Johnson was an excellent coach, but questioned his ability to recruit players good enough to win in the ACC. What do I know? All he’s done is become the ACC’s Coastal Division’s most consistent winner since his arrival in 2008.

Become a fan of the ACC on Facebook and follow the ACC on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>