My USBWA Awards Ballot


Happy Weekend, everyone – don’t forget, it’s Day Light Savings time – put those clocks ahead one hour tonight, eh?

What follows below is my United States Basketball Writers Association (USWBA) ballot for national men’s basketball awards, including the All-America team, the All-District team (covering Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina), The Oscar Robertson Trophy (for National Player of the Year), The Henry Iba Award (for National Coach of the Year), and the Wayman Tisdale Award (for National Freshman of the Year).  I wanted to find a spot for Tyler Ennis (Syracuse), Shabazz Napier (UConn), and Julius Randall (Kentucky) – but in the end, I think I made the best selections (and it’s ACC heavy on the All-District Selections).

All-America (Selection of Ten All-Americans):

  • C.J. Fair, Syracuse

  • T.J. Warren, NC State

  • Andrew Wiggins, Kansas

  • Jabari Parker, Duke

  • Russ Smith, Louisville

  • Nick Johnson, Arizona

  • Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati

  • Doug McDermott, Creighton

  • Cleanthony Early, Wichita State

  • Casey Prather, Florida

All-District (Covers collegiate players from the states of Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina):

  • Jabari Parker, Duke

  • Marcus Paige, North Carolina

  • T.J. Warren, NC State

  • K.J. McDaniels, Clemson

  • James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina

  • Malcolm Brogden, Virginia

  • Rodney Hood, Duke

  • Joe Harris, Virginia

  • Quinn Cook, Duke

  • J.P. Tokoto, North Carolina

Oscar Robertson Trophy (National Player of the Year):

  • Doug McDermott, Creighton

Henry Iba Award (National Coach of the Year):

  • Larry Brown, SMU

Wayman Tisdale Award (National Freshman of the Year):

  • Jabari Parker, Duke

Thanks for reading.  If you have any comments, hit @TalkinACCSports or @HokieSmash (me) up on Twitter.

Become a fan of the ACC on Facebook and follow the ACC on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>